Atheism and the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster

“The church says the earth is flat, but I know that it is round, for I have seen the shadow on the moon, and I have more faith in a shadow than in the church”. — Ferdinand Magellan

images

Saturday afternoon. Decided to write another blog. Flying Spaghetti Monster will do.

I’m an atheist and I follow other prominent Atheists on the internet. I decided to present the FSM very lightly.  Whatever you believe, I’m sure this will inspire some interesting thoughts.

PASTAFARIANISM

Heard of Pastafarianism? Perhaps not. Regardless, it is a religion. Thank god for freedom of religion huh. Now, for those who find this difficult to believe, please read a BBC article about Niko, an Austrian atheist, who was granted the right to wear a colander on his head for his drivers license photo http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-14135523. In Facebook, Pastafarian is a choice available when choosing your religious affiliation.

Untitled

Regardless of your opinion, Pastafarianism has followers and its own religious book, named “The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster“.

Feel free to visit their official website. Become a member

ATHEISM

I love watching modern scientists and religious followers debate and argue. YouTube has a plethora of examples, but to narrow it down for my readers, I would like to personally endorse names such as:

Richard Dawkins – Evolutionary Biologist and Ethologist
Lawrence Krauss – Theoretical Physicist

I could spend hours watching these debates. I lie in my bed at night and view these without distraction. In my opinion, it seems the irrational have an advantage due to their unwillingness to accept facts. It personally amazes me how in the year 2013, there are people in modern societies that believe the earth is only a few thousand years old. Let me leave you with this quote;

Do not pass by my epitaph, traveler.
But having stopped, listen and learn, then go your way.
There is no boat in Hades, no ferryman Charon,
No caretaker Aiakos, no dog Cerberus.
All we who are dead below
Have become bones and ashes, but nothing else.
I have spoken to you honestly, go on, traveler,
Lest even while dead I seem talkative to you.

-Ancient Roman Tombstone

One thought on “Atheism and the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster

  1. Pingback: The Silly Mood Continues - The Chop Shop

Leave a Reply

